Sponsored by: McLaren Port Huron

The St. Clair County Board of Commissioners has elected Jorja Baldwin as the newest commissioner for the second district. Baldwin was elected at the Board of Commissioners meeting on June 20 in a 4 to 1 ballot vote. As the current Fort Gratiot Township Supervisor, Jorja Baldwin will fill the seat previously held by Karl Tomion who resigned last month, and she will be sworn into the position by July 5. The term for Tomion’s seat representing the second district which includes Fort Gratiot Township,  Burtchville Township, and the northern half of the City of Port Huron, runs through the end of 2020 which Baldwin will now fulfill. In light of the appointment to the Board, Baldwin will be leaving her position as Fort Gratiot Township Supervior. The Fort Gratiot Township Board of Trustees will have 30 days to appoint a new supervisor upon Baldwin’s resignation. If the position goes infilled after 30 days; a special election will take place.